top of page

An Anthology of Filipino-Canadian Writing

edited by Teodoro Alcuitas, C.E. Gatchalian, and Patria Rivera


ISBN: 9781770867178

Format: Trade Paperback w/ Flaps
Size: 6" x 9"



LCO004000 LITERARY COLLECTIONS / Asian / General

SOC007000 SOCIAL SCIENCE / Emigration & Immigration

Price: $29.95


Publication Date: November 4, 2023

Shop Local Button.png



Since first arriving in Canada, the Filipino community has contributed invaluably — and too often invisibly — to the fabric of Canadian society. In this anthology of Filipino-Canadian writing, Magdaragat explores the diverse intricacies of these growing yet underrepresented peoples, continuing the vital work of recognizing and celebrating their cultural contributions.


Writers in this anthology, hailing from across Turtle Island, each provide their singular yet universally resonating insights through stories of new homes and old homelands, of untangling internalized racism and championing solidarity, of the chasms within intergenerational households and the work of repairing them, and more. Poems, essays, short fiction, plays, and speeches — their works collected here showcase a wide breadth of Filipino-Canadian experience.


Through stories of sacrifice, violence, and discrimination interspersed with stories of success, recovery, and solidarity, Magdaragat delves into Filipino-Canadian history, the joys and struggles of its present, and the hopes and aspirations for the future.

Contributors include:

Jim Agapito

Teodoro Alcuitas

Hari Alluri

Christine Añonuevo

Kaia M. Arrow

Isabela Palanca Aureus

Leon Aureus

Jennilee Austria-Bonifacio

Jellyn Ayudan

Hannah Balba

Monica Anne Batac

Alexa Batitis

Mila Bongco-Philipzig

Davey Samuel Calderon

Shirley Camia

Isabel Carlin

Rachel Evangeline Chiong

Karla Comanda

Kay Costales

Gemma Dalayoan

Ariel Dela Cruz

Adrian De Leon

Nathalie De Los Santos

Sol Diana

Erica Dionora

Carolyn Fe

Renato Gandia

C. E. Gatchalian
Kawika Guillermo

Primrose Madayag Knazan

José Romelo Lagman

Yves Lamson

Lorina Mapa

Deann Louise Nardo

Christopher Nasaire

Rafael Palma

Marc Perez

Remilyn Felix Lydia Aiden Fau Policarpio

Leah Ranada

Alma Salazar Retuta

Patria Rivera

Rani Rivera

Grace Sanchez MacCall

Aileen Santiago

Angelo Santos

Carlo Sayo

Maribeth Tabanera

Steffi Tad-y
Vincent Ternida

bottom of page